1-1/4" Carbide Mushroom Shaping Wheel

 
(44 reviews)  

5 stars
 42 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
44 results found
Show results 1 - 44
Amazon Customer
Jan 4, 2016
Im more of a air tool guy but these are probably one of the best little bits. It flies on my pneumatic angle grinder and hasnt gummed up yet.

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R1NO2FGDXICNLE/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Kirwan Coefield
Nov 30, 2015
Need to buy this, you won't regret it!

Fantastic tool accessory. Works just like described and helped me get things done!!

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R3J2O694V102Y1/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
R Michelle C
Oct 31, 2015
what can I say. Works as advertised

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R119GGOC6T3WT4/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
waimanalo carpenter
Aug 16, 2015
Useful

Bought it because I might have a use for it, and I did use it and it worked very well.

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R1DEKE6167EL6M/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kathleen E.
Jul 30, 2015
Made Well

Purchased for some wood working during a houshold renovation. Very Pleased with it. allowed me to shape the wood exactly as needed and seems to be made well

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R2L51FTDY8SWRO/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
The Seeker
Jul 13, 2015
Very versatile - glad I bought this

Beauty of a tool and am very glad I have this in my tool kit now. Very versatile - cuts quickly but generates a lot of dust especially if shaping compressed board so use a dust mask.

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/RKU8ECK2DVM43/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
vince
Jun 25, 2015
Used it to make/finish coped baseboard joints...worked perfectly..

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R11BJBFC97UFO9/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
N D
May 29, 2015
Even Better Than I Expected

I bought this to try coping some crown molding. I saw a you-tube instructional video and the guy was using one. It eats thru wood like those cartoon termites! It made coping the corner joints quick and easy.

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R215PHJCSKMJLX/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Christopher Erdei
Apr 14, 2015
This really removes the wood fast when coping baseboard molding.

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/RV0MSYQIDNNKN/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
James Phillips
Apr 13, 2015
A must for all detail wood workers

Amazing tool. I used it in my Dremel with the flex shaft to make final adjustment in coped crown moulding.
The flex shaft gives better control of the shaping wheel. It removes excess wood in one or two seconds that
would take minutes with a rasp and/or sandpaper.

Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R3R4RAS4ST6YAN/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Pepper's Keeper
Apr 3, 2015
Five Stars
Good product.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R1UBWC77JXFK32/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Faisal Abbas
Mar 12, 2015
Five Stars
Excellent.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R3ODG16741K3M5/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David Quintana
Feb 22, 2015
Five Stars
Recommended

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R16G3SP7X9F2ZM/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
robsoc
Jan 23, 2015
Five Stars
Neat tool

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R4ZCH4B9ZUUTF/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
John Mielke
Jan 9, 2015
satisfied

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R3SPZ3JIFKR0P5/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Davide Bertuzzi
Oct 16, 2014
All Ok, perfect product ... thank you!!!!

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R3RSW80871V6I3/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David R.
Aug 18, 2014
Makes quick work of coping trim. My coping saw handling is rather clumsy, so when I saw an online demonstration of a technique using this tool, I ordered the attachment (not available in my area's box stores) from Amazon. I still hog out the bulk of the material with the saw, but use the shaping wheel to remove up to the trim line. Fast, clean, and no jiggering a blade around awkward angles. Hardwoods and 100 yr old fir yield easily to the carbide teeth. You might wish to wear a respirator or dust mask as the tool creates a very fine wood flour. I'll be interested to see the longevity of the tool as I have much more crown molding to cope.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R2ZY444SDXMPX7/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
CAVEMAN
Jun 23, 2014
OH YES!
This little sucker will do a lot of work and fast. Be careful cause it has no mercy on wood. The shape of it is the secret that makes it different from other wheels.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R3M78E62QJXXFB/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
M. Charles Schuessler "deciple"
Feb 10, 2014
inside corner coping
works perfectly for coping inside corners on baseboard and or crown molding, you have to remove the wood behind the inside corner cut to make a tight fit, this will work nicely!

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RTW5OZ6XVAHG9/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Tony Jaros
Jan 9, 2014
Great for getting the tricky cuts and shapes done
Great price representing excellent value for money, this bit saves me time and money while producing a clean and accurate finish to my projects

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RJFB5EV4EYSBJ/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
march13
Sep 19, 2013
Great Tool
This tool is exceptional. I have used it to shape wood. It is fas, yet easy to control. A must for your Dremel kit!!!

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R19J3BL5LUTUDK/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
jeremy
Jul 26, 2013
Quick solution
This shaping wheel does what is expected of it. No complaints and happy with the product listing and price. Quick solution to rough edges on minor projects.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RJ00DTUE3YLR2/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Andrew Stokes
May 11, 2013
Great Little Tool
Rapid removal of material. I bought this to cope out MDF and it works great. So I bought another two

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R9VDPPY2A1GP7/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
G. Linn
Apr 21, 2013
A Nice Addition to Your Dremel Tool Set
I'm replacing the floor molding in a room where I have just installed laminate flooring. Generally, as a homeowner, I put down new molding rather than put back the molding that came off - it's as much work to clean up the old molding as to put down new. So, I usually do the standard woodworking thing for inside joints by making 45 degree miters. We all know that it is maybe easier to "cope" an inside joint but DIYers, like me, are maybe not as good at making coped joints. Online, I saw a video where a guy used this specific bit to quickly cope inside corners. He was using fiber based molding whereas I planned to use wood molding. So, I ordered this bit. I only needed it for less than a dozen joints so didn't care if it would last or not. I tried it and it works just fine. I did use my jigsaw to saw off a lot of "un-needed" wood before coping with it. I'm sure that this bit has a lot of other uses. It works in a Dremel or a Rototool.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RKLZN7SJEVMR0/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
bosecoo
Apr 17, 2013
Worth it!
I have found this wheel to be the attachment that truly makes owning a dremel tool worthwhile. I'm a finish carpenter and bought one to use when I cope. It works great for that, but I've found myself using it in countless circumstances since, where it's saved me many hours of time. I wasn't sure how it'd hold up, so I bought 2. I'm still on the first wheel, and it's shown no sign of wear yet. Do yourself a favor and get one.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R1S0MG986Y7I57/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Crystal
Feb 19, 2013
Awesome!
This cutting tool worked great for my son's pinewood derby car. It didn't burn the wood or 'jerk' around like some other cutting tools.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R2CAE7VM9IZ8QQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jack
Feb 15, 2013
Great Dremel accessory
This will quickly remove wood when you want to get rid of a lot. Then you can use the finer grit accessories to finish. Very nice product that every Dremel owner who works with wood would appreciate.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R1TQ4K5MB4RWE9/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jimmie W. Littrell "littjw"
Dec 31, 2012
Works great for coping crown moulding. Very nice addition to my dremel tool collection. Would recommend for any dremel owner

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R2PRQHOC3T7FL0/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ernesto Avellana
Dec 20, 2012
Coping Tool for Crown Moldings
I have used this shaping tool for 3 years on many crown molding projects. it works fantastic and allows for very complex cuts. It does create a lot of dust and you'll want to wear a mask along with your safety glasses. After a few cuts, you'll get a hang of it and then it'll be a lot of fun to do project after project.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R9FN5ABSNXLXS/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dad who likes toys too
Sep 7, 2012
Nice for coping baseboard - cuts very well
bought it to try coping baseboard. It cuts very well and helped me to get fairly nice joints. I know that some traditionalists would only use a coping saw, but using this is more fun.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R1I22VAJGCT4GQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
PawPaw125
Apr 22, 2012
The Carbide Shaping Wheel delivers exactly as promised. It is great at removing and shaping either wood, or MDF both fast and smoothly. I bought it to "cope" crown molding, chair rail molding, baseboard and shoe molding. At 35,000 RPM, it was FAST! When I got close to my cope line, I slowed it down to about 15,000 RPM, and it delivered amazing accuracy.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R5X986HMHHHO7/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
James J. Aimers, Ph.D.
Mar 13, 2012
This customer purchased the item at our site.
My students remove slip (a clay coating that is like a thick hard paint) from a Postclassic period Maya pottery sherd (ca 1300 AD). 

We remove the slips before grinding the sherd into powder and pressing it into a wax pellet to be analyzed by X-Ray flourescence (gives a chemical signature, useful for looking at trade and exchange) 

The slips confuse things so we remove them.
The bits work like a charm!

Best,
James J. Aimers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
State University of New York at Geneseo
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
tesajeni "tesajeni"
Feb 29, 2012
I used this tool as a shaper on my Dremel for coping molding. This worked very well if I put my thumb on the left hand on the Dremel to help guide and stabilize the tool. I quickly got an exact line on the molding. It is dusty as the cut is all sawdust, but it is very fast and doesn't take a huge amount of skill to get a good cut like a coping saw does.

Not obvious in the description is this tool has a curved surface with the center screw depressed. The cutting surface is all on the top. The [CW5 1-1/2" Cutting Wheel] tool is flat. The curved surface gives this tool a bit of an advantage in complex curves and the back cutting needed for crown coping. It is slightly harder than the [CW5] to do a flat, but it doesn't take much to get that just right too.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RIH9AR8KCT6YL/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Massimo G.
Feb 5, 2012
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have been using your Mushroom Shaping Wheel tools for more than a month now, and they are really good to smooth the concave parts of my sculptures.
 
You can see my sculptures at my site www.despiramirabilis.com.
 
Best regards
Massimo G. - Milan, Italy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
T. Anderson
Nov 2, 2011
Perfect
This is a great dremel attachment. I have used it to cope crown molding -- very durable and does the job.

GREAT PRODUCT

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R2BFMP56AAVADK/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tim M.
Aug 16, 2011
This Shaping wheel works very well. I use mine primarily for removing gel coat and fiberglass. It cuts through nicely and doesn't grab. It cuts smoothly and is controllable.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R3UHA8AILG6KOK/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Linda Master
Feb 18, 2011
I love this bit!
This is an awesome bit for hogging out and rough shaping hard wood. Be prepared for lots of dust though. I've only used it a couple times so far so can't comment on how long it will last but it does what I want it to do.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RVZ4SA313MMI8/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Brian T Remmerde "Techno Mage"
Oct 31, 2010
Fantastic accessory
This is a great product, it's well worth it's price for doing all kinds of woodwork, it will shave down that little bump that's in the way or cut into a piece of wood that's being stubborn. Run it at a medium speed and use a light touch, let the tool work for you. Pushing into it only heats up the bit and the work. Take it easy & one wheel will last through many projects.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A2DB4TODHDFYIU/ref=cm_cr_pr_pdp?ie=UTF8
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Alan F.
Aug 30, 2009
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I am using my mushrooms all the time. Whether my needs have changed, or I have developed the "right" technique, I don't know, but it is my first thought for most jobs.

Alan F. - Angus, United Kingdom
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Pete G.
Mar 7, 2009
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Tools are great.  Will probably order more in the fall before winter.  Have to keep myself busy....

Pete G. - Ohio
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Conway B.
Dec 14, 2008
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I was Googling "mini-circular saw blades, thinking of a mini-blade with teeth that I could put on a mandrel and use on a special project, when I found the following site/link: http://hardwareaisle.thisoldhouse.com/2008/09/dura-grit-makes.html

I hadn't heard of your product before, but it looked like it would do the job, and the rest is history, as they say.
 
Regards,  
Conway B. - Oregon
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aaron S.
Dec 4, 2008
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I finally got the time to start using my new Dura-Grit bits yesterday. Very soon after starting my project, I said: Oooh BABY! This is fun. Cuts and shapes hardwood like butter. Thanks for making a great product which will make my life easier and more productive!

Aaron S. - Tucson, AZ
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Evgeny B.
Oct 17, 2008
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Has received the tools ordered by me.
Thanks for the qualitative goods.
I have only the best responses.
In the near future I assume to make more order.
As I promise to advise your goods to all colleagues on hobby.

About your firm has learned from a videoclip on youtube.com 8-)

Evgeny B. - Latvia 
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bill "Dremel Nut"
May 2, 2008
Good News for Small Woodworking Projects
Before I purchased the Carbide Rotary Tool Shaping Wheel it was difficult to remove larger quanities of wood from an item I was carving. The wheel makes fast work of getting to the shape I want.

(Verified Purchase and Reviewed on Amazon.com)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/review/RA9NVWYSDJLEL/ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0006O4FH4
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)


DuraGRIT Tungsten Carbide Tools and Burrs That Really Work and Work

Call Dura-GRIT Toll Free:  1 (844) 447-GRIT (4748)

FREE SHIPPING USA!

The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.